Back label art

I do love reading the back labels (on bottles, jars, boxes) being the communication channel between me and the producer. I do admit: I am a sucker for it who at the same time is trying to keep the distance from the marketing mumbo jumbo. Some messages are full of bullshit, other lacking in imagination. Sometimes, however, I think the marketing people smoke dope… or make fun of me. Especially, when I am not an expert on the described product. Let me give you an example. I bought meself the Ultimate Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky, 10 years old, non chill-filtered, 46% strong.

I like the peat, the smoke which is characteristic of the Island of Islay products. I chose it because it was advertised as most smoky. And it is. I think too much, as the peat and smoke tastes and aromas overwhelm all other which the producer claims to have included in the dark green bottle. Or I just do not know any better. Anyways, read for yourself.

Waxy dark chocolate? Smoked fish and crispy bacon? Not sure, but must say that there is some remarkable taste and texture to the whisky and I really would like to a down a full glass of it in such windy and marine surroundings.


One response to “Back label art

Leave a Reply

